Banana cake

Standard

This is a recipe I have been using for years.  I adapted it from a vegetarian recipe book that I used to own.  What I like about it is that it has no added sugar.  I dislike recipes for banana bread/cake that have only one banana in them and then add sugar.  Why?  Bananas are so sweet already.  There’s no raising agent, extra liquid or salt in this recipe either – it’s dense and good for you!

For economy, I made two of these when the oven was still hot from baking an apple crumble.  Turning on the oven for one small loaf doesn’t seem like good common sense to me!

banana cake

banana cake

All you need for one loaf is:

1lb mashed ripe bananas (about 2 cups)

half cup good quality unsalted chopped nuts (I use raw almonds)

three-eighths of a cup oil (not olive, it’s too strong; I used softened Earth Balance this time and it worked well)

1 cup raisins or sultanas or currants

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup wholewheat flour

Mix it all together and pack into a loaf pan lined with baking parchment.  (It will fit into a 1lb pan but you can use a 2lb.)  Bake for 1 hour at 375 F.

2 responses »

Leave a comment