Something different

Standard

shepherdspie

Something other than Taoism today.  Last night, I made shepherd’s pie for the kids.  Now, I really ought to come up with a different name for it, because it certainly doesn’t have any lamb in it.  Hmmm, farmer’s pie maybe.

I made it up as I went along, hoping that the boys would actually eat it when it was done.  I knew they would object to vegetables, so I was careful to make sure that the ones I put in were invisible!  🙂

Here’s how I made it…

I boiled 3 pounds of potatoes in some lightly salted water and mashed them with some Earth Balance (vegan buttery spread).

I sauteed some garlic and onion in olive oil together with (sssh, don’t tell) finely grated carrot and zucchini.  Added in some salt and pepper and oregano.

Threw in a package of Yves Veggie Ground Round (not ideal as it’s not organic soy, but I haven’t found another brand locally), a cup of vegetable stock and some tomato paste (about half of a 5.5 oz can).

I think that was everything.  I didn’t write it down at the time as I thought that might put a curse on it and the boys would hate it and I would never make it again!

The vegetable mixture went in the bottom of an oval baking dish, the mashed potato went on top and I dotted it with a few little pieces of Earth Balance and a sprinkle of paprika.  It was baked for 40 minutes at 400 degrees and it came out looking like the best shepherd’s pie I ever made.

And you know what?  The kids liked it.  I made gravy too – they would have been even happier with ketchup, probably, but I don’t always have ketchup in the house – they go through it way too fast.

Tai Chi Man and I were happy with our dinner too.  Roasted yams and leeks.  Since I found this recipe in a library book, we’ve had it every week.  It’s really good.

I had a computer-free day yesterday.  My intention was to get some knitting done instead.  Most of the day sped by without any knitting, though – we had our health food shopping to do, Lego Nut had emptied out the entire contents of his bedroom into the hallway so that we could vacuum and rearrange and tidy everything, so he needed help to finish that job, and eventually the evening came and I managed to do a few rows on the shawl.  Then we watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding on DVD, during which I added a few rounds to the sock.  I had planned to see Bridget Jones, the Edge of Reason, as I found that on DVD at the library on Saturday, but Corner Gas won out and the boys and I ended up watching it until 1am!

Now I really should get on with my Monday to-d0 list, which as usual is long and is mostly housework.

My cold is almost gone – just a little congestion left – and Ninja Boy and I will be going back to Taekwondo tonight after a 3 week break.  It’ll be tough, but I have to do it!

Leave a comment