divine food

Standard

These chocolatey balls were my attempt at recreating Bliss Balls, some divinely inspired chocolate- covered ginger flavoured treats from my local health food store.

I think I shall call them Divine Balls! Just so I can post them in the sidebar, you understand.

They are smaller than the original, about the size of walnuts, with a creamier texture, but still very good. Here’s how I made them.

Put in your food processor the following ingredients:

1 cup cashew nut butter (roasted or raw), half a cup of raisins, half a cup of dates (I used honey dates), 1 tablespoon each of agave syrup and cocoa powder, 1 teaspoon of powdered ginger. Blast until it forms a ball and won’t mix any more. That doesn’t take long.

Melt 1 cup of chocolate chips in a bowl over a pan of hot water, dip each ball in the chocolate, place them on a plate and leave in the fridge to chill for half an hour. That’s it! I have been craving some chocolate for a while, and Easter is the perfect excuse. 🙂

The cake below is one I made a week or so ago and I just got around to uploading a ton of photos from the camera. It’s from Heaven’s Banquet by M K Hospodar, which is turning into my favourite cookbook of all time. The recipe is Cardamom Teacake and it received rave reviews from everyone. So easy to make too. I’ll definitely be making this one again.

Leave a comment