a new recipe and a new project

Standard

A friend came over today to knit. Her teenage daughter played Monopoly with ds2 and her son played Lego and PS2 games with ds3. We knitted/crocheted, drank tea and tested out these new creations of mine. They were good!

This is what I’m working on. I call it Scalloped Scarflet. It’s going to be a short neck wrap which will button closed. The cast on edge is the lower edge when worn, and I chose a scallop edging from the first Harmony book of stitch patterns. The rest is going to be plain garter. When it looks wide enough, I’ll bind off.

The yarn is James C Brett Marble DK (acrylic) in shades of green. I don’t know whether I’ll keep this one or give it away – I rather like the idea of having a couple of things made in case a last-minute gift is required.

Here’s the recipe for the Coco-Nut Balls…

  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • half cup ground almonds
  • quarter cup cocoa powder
  • quarter cup ground flax seeds
  • quarter cup ground sunflower seeds
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger root
  • a few drops of real vanilla extract
  • quarter cup melted coconut oil
  • quarter cup plus 1 tablespoon maple syrup

Process all in a food processor until properly combined. Using wet hands, form into balls. Refrigerate and eat.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment