buckwheat pancakes

Standard

This was my lunch today! These pancakes are so different from the ones I ate when I was a child. My mum would only make them on Shrove Tuesday (Pancake Day) so we had them once a year!!! They were more like crepes, made with eggs, and rolled up with sugar and lemon juice. They were really good. The problem with them, though, was that mum could only cook one at a time so it seemed like a long wait between pancakes.

Of course here in North America pancakes can be an everyday affair. They’re smaller and you can buy them in stacks with maple syrup on them just about anywhere. Mine are vegan and I invented this recipe recently so I thought I’d share.

This recipe makes 10 or so small pancakes, enough for one or two people, depending on your appetite.

half cup buckwheat flour

half cup spelt flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon soyflour

1 tablespoon soymilk powder

half teaspoon salt

1 cup water

Mix it all together while your pan is heating with a little oil in it. I use olive oil. Drop spoonfuls of batter into the pan, cook for a few minutes, flip and cook a few minutes more. Repeat with the rest of the batter.

Serve with real maple syrup or agave and fresh fruit.

2 responses »

  1. I’ll have to try that – My Dad loved buckwheat pancakes and to be honest as a child I was not a big fan – but I’ll try again – yours look so yummy!

  2. Those look delicious! One of my absolute favorite foods is pancakes … sometimes I wake up in the morning and the very first thing I think about is pancakes. I will most definitely have to make some of these from your recipe.

Leave a comment