not quite greek pastitsio

Standard

This went down successfully with the kids today so I thought I’d post the recipe. I made it up as I went along, based loosely on what I remember of pastitsio when I spent time in Greece. Obviously the original has meat in it, and a white sauce, but not having any non-vanilla-flavoured “milk” in the house meant I skipped that step.

Here’s how I made it.

  • Cook a packet of wholewheat macaroni – mine was 375grams
  • Saute 2 onions in a generous amount of olive oil until soft
  • Season with oregano (about 2 tsp), salt (about 1 tsp), black pepper, cinnamon (about 1 tsp) and a sprinkle of allspice
  • Add one pack of Yves Veggie Ground Round Original (340grams) or equivalent meat substitute
  • Add one 28oz can of diced tomatoes
  • Warm through and mix with the cooked and drained macaroni
  • Transfer to a baking dish
  • Bake 20 minutes at 400 degrees F, top with half a pack of grated soycheese (I used half of  a 284gram pack of Vegan Gourmet Monterey Jack), bake for a further 20 minutes

I served it with Greek Salad made with cucumbers, tomatoes, and the Fake Feta from How it all Vegan (Barnard and Kramer).

One response »

Leave a comment