instant pudding

Standard

I was craving a postprandial* snack this evening. I have been quite disciplined of late – most evenings I have avoided snacking after dinner as it tends to pile on the pounds. However, this evening I couldn’t resist, so I whipped up this pudding. It’s so much healthier than the stuff in packets [“just add water or milk” ] and very satisfying from the healthy fat angle and the sweetness. And it’s raw.

Not the best photo. Looks a bit like peanut butter, doesn’t it, but thankfully it tastes nothing like it. I just tossed the following ingredients into the food processor, blitzed it, and ate it…straight out of the food processor bowl…

1 avocado, 1 banana, a squirt of agave, 2 heaped dessertspoons of raw carob powder, 2 fresh Medjool dates

My exercise today was an hour of mowing the lawn. Tai Chi Man started the job when he got home from work (because I was having trouble starting the mower) and I finished it after dinner. I just had to have a soak in the bath after that, because I always feel like I smell of gas fumes, walking behind that machine for so long.

The garden looks so much neater when all the grass is the same length!

I am off caffeine and coffee these days. I had a couple of restless nights after eating chocolate, so thought I’d stay away from caffeine altogether. I have been drinking the occasional decaf coffee, but I had to admit to myself that I wasn’t enjoying it at all, so will stick to herbal tea in future. Now if I get a sleepless night I’ll have to blame it on something else!

*postprandial |pōstˈprandēəl|adjective formal or humorous during or relating to the period after dinner or lunch : we were jolted from our postprandial torpor.• Medicine occurring after a meal.ORIGIN early 19th cent.: from post- [after] + Latin prandium ‘a meal’ + -al .

5 responses »

  1. Sounds yummy – we’re still a while from mowing – but things are starting to turn green – today we have sleet snow and cold, cold rain…

  2. I never thought I would love seeing a freshly mown lawn so much, but I do. It really enhances my garden!

  3. I think this is a mistake:

    *postprandial |pōstˈprandēəl|adjective formal or humorous during or relating to the period after dinner or lunch : we were jolted from our postprandial torpor.• Medicine occurring after a meal.ORIGIN early 19th cent.: from post- [after]   Latin prandium ‘a meal’   -al .

Leave a comment