banana muesli bread

Standard
This is a blog post I wrote back in May ’07 when I was writing a joint blog with some friends. I’m bringing it over here because someone has asked if they can link to the recipe and I want people to be able to contact me (I’m no longer affiliated with the other blog).

I had some muesli in a container in the fridge (recipe below) and I used this in the bread. Here’s what’s in it…

2 cups wholewheat flour
2 cups muesli
2 ripe mashed bananas
2 teaspoons baking powder
quarter teaspoon salt
quarter cup oil
2 tablespoons soyflour
three quarters cup water

Mix it all together and put the dough into a large loaf pan lined with baking parchment. Bake it for 1 hour at 325 degrees F. When it’s cool, slice and spread with Earth Balance vegan Buttery Spread.

Muesli:

2 cups steelcut oats
1 cup almonds (chopped up roughly)
2 cups raisins
8 dried figs or other dried fruit (remove the hard stalk and cut into pieces)
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup hulled hemp seeds
half cup sesame seeds (ground up a little in a coffee grinder)

Leave a comment