Free Pattern: Bryony Baby/Toddler Barefoot Sandals

Standard

This is the second crochet pattern I am publishing today! I made five more pairs of barefoot sandals today and played with the idea of a flower version. I think these would look really cute on a little girl. Bear in mind these have not been tested on real baby feet so if you are making these for your own child you may want to check/adjust the size of the toe loop or ankle ties.

20140505-210038.jpg

20140505-210044.jpg

Bryony Baby/Toddler Barefoot Sandals

I invented these baby barefoot sandals this afternoon and wanted to share them with you. They are very easy and quick to make, though maybe a little fiddly, especially if you have middle-aged eyes (like mine)!

Yarn: I used Knitpicks Shine Sport (but anything would do that’s not too thick, with an appropriate size hook)
4.25mm/G/6 crochet hook
Gauge not important (my flowers are a little over an inch across)

Start with a magic ring, chain 1.

5 sc into ring, tighten ring by pulling on yarn tail, slipstitch into first sc to join. Chain 1.

Working into the same stitch, work (sc, hdc, dc, hdc, sc) all into one stitch to form petal. Repeat four more times.

Slipstitch to first sc to join. Do not fasten off yet.

Make 10 chain for toe loop, slipstitch into beginning chain, cut yarn, using a darning needle draw yarn to back and weave in.
Weave in beginning tail.

To make ties, chain 49, slipstitch into corner of petal opposite toe loop, going under two strands. Chain 49, fasten off. Tie knots in ends of ties and trim.

I considered beads for my baby barefoot sandals but for safety I decided against them.

7 responses »

  1. I didn’t get an email or Ravelry message from you, Sue – did you have a question?

  2. Pingback: 60+ Adorable and FREE Crochet Baby Sandals Patterns | iCreativeIdeas.com

  3. Thank you Kathy, last summer I gave away a couple of these to little girls at the farmer’s market and they looked really sweet.

  4. Pingback: 11 Crochet Baby Barefoot Sandals - Crochet with Patterns

Leave a comment